Our board

Alison Marshall, Chair

Alison is a qualified lawyer and a former partner at Dickinson Dees LLP. She joined Gateshead Health as Chair in October 2019. She joined the organisation from Northumbria Healthcare where she was a non-executive director since 2017. She is also a non-executive director at Northern Powergrid.

Yvonne Ormston MBE, Chief Executive

Yvonne joined the organisation from the North East Ambulance Service (NEAS), where she has been the chief executive for more than four years, and brings a wealth of experience from across the NHS.

Executive Directors


Joanne Baxter, Chief Operating Officer

Joanne is an experienced executive director with more than 30 years’ experience in the NHS. She joined from the North East Ambulance Service (NEAS) where she spent seven years as the Executive Director of Quality, Safety, Innovation and Improvement. 

Andrew Beeby, Medical Director

Mr Andy Beeby is a Consultant Obstetrician & Gynaecologist and has worked at the Trust for 21 years. He trained in the North East has over 30 years of clinical experience with a special interest in urogynaecology. He was the lead clinician for Obstetrics & Gynaecology at the Trust for 11 years a department that has recently been rated as Outstanding after CQC inspection. 

Jackie Bilcliff, Group Director of Finance

Jackie Bilcliff is our Group Director of Finance and has worked for the Trust since 2014. Jackie qualified in 1996 with CIPFA and has held a number of positions within the private, health and criminal justice sectors.

Lisa Crichton-Jones, Director of People and OD

Lisa joined the Trust in October 2020 and is an experienced NHS HR Director, having worked at Executive level since 2012 and in the NHS since 1999.  She brings experience of working in a large complex trust as well as recent experience as Director of Workforce for the NENC Integrated Care System.  She is a Governor at East Durham College, a trustee at Museums North and Chairs the local and regional NHS social partnership forums.

Non Executive Directors

Hilary Parker

Hilary qualified as a solicitor in 1985. She was previously a university lecturer. She was a partner at Sintons solicitors until 2015. She specialised in healthcare law and remains a consultant with Sintons. Hilary was a non-executive director at the Newcastle Hospitals Foundation Trust for many years. She chairs the Newcastle University Development Trust ( a charity) and is on the board of Kingston Properties Limited a wholly owned subsidiary of Bernicia Housing ( a registered housing association)

Andrew Moffat (CBE)

During his executive career he has gained experience in the water, telecommunications and ports sectors occupying senior financial, commercial and strategic roles.  He joined Port of Tyne as Finance and Commercial Director in 2007 and was Chief Executive for 10 years. He was Chair of the CBI’s Regional Council in 2018 and Deputy Chair in 2019 and is currently a private sector, North East LEP Board Member and also chairs its Investment Board.

Ruth Bonnington

Ruth has been a GP in Gateshead for 22 years and works in a small practice in Bensham where she has been a partner since 1995. 

Martin Gannon

Cllr Gannon is the leader of Gateshead Council.

Paul Hopkinson

Paul qualified as a solicitor in 1999 having had a previous career in banking. He currently runs his own legal business advising a small portfolio of public sector organisations in the fields of health and education.He also acts in a voluntary capacity as a school governor and a cancer charity trustee.

David Shilton

David began his career in the NHS as a student nurse in 1975. After qualifying he worked in a number of clinical areas before working as a nurse manager in both the NHS and independent sector. His most recent role was as Executive Nurse Director in South Tyneside, a post he held from April 1993 until his retirement in January 2012. 

Mike Robson

Mike is a public sector accountant. He worked in the NHS for over 34 years having been Director of Finance and Corporate Governance and Deputy Chief Executive at South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust. He previously carried out a similar role at the Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle. Mike is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of St Oswald’s Hospice. Having previously served as Honorary Treasurer he was appointed as a Vice President in 2007.

You can view the Trust Structure here.